Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heleninramsey

Friends School Plant sale...please inform...

heleninramsey
14 years ago

Okay...I have been hearing about this plant sale for a few years now, and I admit to knowing nothing about the thing. I have a few questions...

1. Why is it so special?

2. As a person who HATES crowds, lines and all things such...is it worth my emotional discomfort?

3. I have been to the web site so I can see they have alot of things, but with all those people can you still count on coming home with something that makes the whole ordeal worth your time.

Forgive my cynicism it is part of my nature...usually when something draws a huge crowd, there is a reason, I just want to know what it is ahead of time.

Thanks, Helen.

Comments (6)

• wiley0
    14 years ago

Guess you won't be happy there cause it is crowded. With the worst kind of people too---gardeners and their SO's.

My first time there they had it in the Midway of St Paul in a large area around some buildings. No place to park for blocks and blocks. People coming and going pulling wagons and carts. Empty going in and full coming out. So, I found a place to park and walked around people gazing as well as looking at all the plants and wishing.

I bought a few plants.

Then I went to the state fair grounds and saw how an army of volunteers had set up massive plant tables and signs and checkout aisles. Read up on this on their site. Quite an undertaking for a three day sale. Semi load after semi load gets unloaded and displayed.

As you HATE crowds, you would be best to just shop at your local center or a Linders in a mall parking lot. You will get personalized attention and no one shoving you around.

As for the quality of their plants, I'll let someone else tell you but if I was to buy there I would probably volunteer and then get in on the pre sale. Besides, it is for a good cause.