Return to the Minnesota Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New to Gardening

Posted by srn790 minnesota (My Page) on
Wed, May 20, 09 at 0:16

I am new to gardening and have decided to grow 10 different vegetables, not knowing what I was getting into. I started out growing, 4 of each: cucumber, melon, watermelon, tomato, bushel bean, hot pepper and green pepper. I made the mistake of planting them in the middle of April. About two weeks ago I started putting them under a grow light. They have doubled in size. Just yesterday i put them in a five gallon buckets under the lights again. Today they look a little droopy and wilted. I can not put them outside until the first week of June. Am I doing everything right so far or is there more I need to do?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New to Gardening

I would start hardening them off now. Put them outside in a sheltered spot and bring them in at night for a few days then put them in the ground. If it is going to freeze cover them.

o
RE: New to Gardening

I understand that you are planning on growing them in the five gallon buckets, right? If you are planning to put them in a garden bed here in the Twin Cities you can plant them outside now.

Newly transplanted plants will often look a bit wilted the first day or so. Be sure they have been watered well. Expect they have perked up by now.

All plants grown inside for the winter/spring need to be hardened off before being placed in sun full time. This means to move them into the sun for a short part of the day and each day increasing their time in the sun. That will prevent the plants dieing from sunburn/sun scald. Another way is to put them in full sun but put something near the plants to shade them for part of the day. After about a week of this they should be okay in full sun.