Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eowynmn

When are you planting tomatoes/peppers?

eowynmn
16 years ago

Hey all,

Just curious when everyone is planting their veggies?

I was thinking of getting mine at the Friends sale this weekend, and then planting them next weekend, but I wanted to see what others were doing as this is my first year.

Thanks,

Erica

Comments (12)

• birdwing
    16 years ago

We have our tomatoes out as of this past weekend..

• deweymn
    16 years ago

I think that will be about a good time. I'm no expert by far but I think a lot has to do with soil temperature which must be related to air temperature during the night as well as the day.

I have a few containers that have had tomato and peppers in them since mid April. At that time I put some annuals in the ground, transplanted some hostas and roses. I tried a few tomato plants in the ground in sunny locations and they are ok but they have just now started to look like they are ready to take off. Perhaps during the cold soil temps they were sending out new roots underground? Or just being dormant. They were 6-8" tall at transplant time.

A couple of cukes died tho I kinda expected that. I started them too early and will just plant seeds this week. Some peas and beans were seeded 2 weeks ago and they are now crawling up a trellis.

If we had a late frost I would have lost a bunch but I gambled that we would not get one. So far so good. For a city yard with North exposure, I don't get early morning sun to warm things so planting early is probably no advantage. Best I stick to cold frames, hot frames and containers used for temporary homes for seedlings from the house. Those I have better morning sun exposure.

• doucanoe
    16 years ago

I put mine out yesterday. I put my basil out, too, but I cover it at night.

As you can see, I am not a patient person! LOL

Linda

• pumpkinpatch
    16 years ago