Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
srn790

New to Gardening

srn790
14 years ago

I am new to gardening and have decided to grow 10 different vegetables, not knowing what I was getting into. I started out growing, 4 of each: cucumber, melon, watermelon, tomato, bushel bean, hot pepper and green pepper. I made the mistake of planting them in the middle of April. About two weeks ago I started putting them under a grow light. They have doubled in size. Just yesterday i put them in a five gallon buckets under the lights again. Today they look a little droopy and wilted. I can not put them outside until the first week of June. Am I doing everything right so far or is there more I need to do?

Comments (11)

• dirtbert
    14 years ago

Sounds pretty good, you really could start hardening them off outside. This is the process of getting them used to the full strength of the sun/wind gradually before planting out. You should be able to put them outside for some time during the day. Just be sure to water well and put them in some light shade so they do not get sunburnt. Gradually leave them out for more and more time, in more and more sun. If the night time lows happen to be above 45-50 they can be left outside as well. If too cold at night yet, then just set into the garage. A wagon works well for this too.

I also always "cheat" reguarding last frost dates. A week before the last frost date I look at the forecast for the next week. If the lows look well above freezing, I go for broke and plant out. On the rare occassion frost still threatens an old bed sheet over the plants will protect them.

• srn790
    Original Author
    14 years ago

I am using the 5 gallon pots that I just replanted them in outside. Today I looked at them and they seem to be a little wilted. I have watered them every day and kept the light on all the time. What more can I do to ensure they continue to grow and not die off? Can I put them outside in 40-50 degree weather at night?

• kaptainkr