Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
splumb_gw

Carrots and grapes

splumb
11 years ago

I planted carrots seeds three weeks ago. I am assuming I should have seen something by now there is nothing showing. Is it to late to plant another batch of carrots. I really was looking for to having some carrots.

Also if anyone knows anything of grapes I am looking for some advice. We bought a house recently and realized we have grapes growing. They were not on any supports just laying on the ground. Some of the branches off the main trunk have started to put down roots. Can I up root those and tried to put them on trellises. Of course leaving the main root structure intact.

I have no experience with growing grapes so any advice would be helpful.

Thanks

Comments (3)

• soilent_green
    11 years ago

If carrot seeds have received water then yes I would expect to see some germinating by now. If in doubt, leave that row alone and plant some more using different seed - you should still have time to get a crop. I just reseeded carrots last week because I had spotty germination. You could also plant smaller or shorter varieties which should get you some fresh eating sooner.

I am no expert on grapes but I will offer my general opinions. Hopefully someone more experienced will offer advice or correct me if I am in error. You can also access the Fruit and Orchards Forum of GW and ask your question there.

If the grapes are a non-grafted variety like Concord then you could certainly cut and move those rooted branches to a new location with great results. You could also move a rooted branch of a grafted variety and it may grow nicely but it might freeze out the first winter or simply shoot up every spring then die back every winter and never produce anything.