Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
melmn2

Honeysuckle Problem

melmn2
18 years ago

Hi My name is Mel and I am new to the gardening forums. I am hoping someone can help me with my honesuckle vine. I have had it for 3 years and it grows prolificly. This spring, the leaves have started to blacken from the bottom up. First they get black spots, then turn yellow, then black and rotted. I would hate to lose this beautiful vine. It has been very wet here this spring. Thanks for any advice you could share. Sincerely, mel

Comments (8)

• leftwood
    18 years ago

Welcome Mel!

Sounds pretty normal for a leaf disease, although they usually don't become water-soaked. When you say rotted, do you mean they are black and mushy? Or black and dry up? And how are the stems: anything happening there? Discoloration, sunken areas on the surface, spots, mushy, etc. Also, what is the soil like, heavy and waterlogged? And how is the new growth?

Rick

• michele13bugs
    18 years ago

I also have a honeysuckle vine question....I have had about 4 very nice vines growing on my chainlink fence that surrounds an area we fenced for my dogs...all of a sudden this year there is alot of old dead vines mixed in with the other vines that are growing green and healthy and have alot of the flowers on them...should I cut this old deadwood away....I assume I should prune the dead ones away??? also I have had two trumpet vines growing for about 4 years...but no trumpets yet....but I have heard it can take years...up to ten...for the flowers to come....is this true...is there anyway I can hurry the trumpets forming...or is it just wait and be patient

• leaveswave
    18 years ago

michele, you can cut the dead vines away if you want to take the time or just leave them and let the new vines cover 'em up. (About trumpet vine, I don't want to hijack this thread, see my post on same.)

• melmn2
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks Rick.