Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hermdog_gw

Yellow leaves on corn

hermdog
17 years ago

First and foremost, I stumbled across this site and--Wow! I am amazed by the knowldege here! I am fairly new to gardening, as we just bought our first house and I finally have room to grow veggies in quanity. I am growing sweet corn and so far so good. The corn is about eight inches high now but some of the leaves on some of the plants are turning real yellow. Too much watering (and rain) maybe? not enough?

Thank you!!

Herm

Comments (5)

• gamebird
    17 years ago

You should also go visit the vegetables forum and ask there. Up in the upper left side of your window is a link to "Other forums". Click there and scroll down to find "Vegetables". Click there and repost your question.

I'm not sure what causes yellow leaves on corn in MN. My corn is about 2-3' tall and very green, dark green. I added a lot of compost to my soil before planting and have added nitrogen heavy fertilizer once (about two weeks ago) and then heaped up two inches of mostly-finished compost around the corn two weeks ago. I water heavily once or twice a week if it isn't raining.

So I don't think it's the weather - mine is doing fine. It might be too much watering or not enough nitrogen/"plant food". I'm told that corn is a very, very heavy feeder, meaning it needs lots and lots of nutrients to grow well.

• loodean
    17 years ago

Depends on which leaves are yellow. If it is the older, lower leaves it is a nitrogen deficiency (the new, baby leaves are sucking the nitrogen out of the older ones). If it the new growth that is yellow, then there are many possible causes. Have you used any herbicides nearby lately? Round-up always begins yellowing the growing tips of plants.

• hermdog
    Original Author
    17 years ago