Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenpayne

help! my dogs are 'watering' my plants!

gardenpayne
17 years ago

I am new to gardening and have put many plants in this year. For some reason my two dogs keep marking my Black Beauty Elder. It has started to shrivel and looks like it is "at risk." What can I do to keep my dogs away from it? It's not really in a place I can put a barrier in around it.

Comments (7)

• leaveswave
    17 years ago

Are they trained? I don't know of any other way, except possibly to find something really distasteful to them and plant it around the other plant.

• gardenpayne
    Original Author
    17 years ago

yes they are trained, but they just mark it erverytime they go in the backyard.

• gamebird
    17 years ago

If you can't put a barrier in around it, can you at least make the ground near it unpleasant to walk on? Rocks, sticks stuck in the ground, bubble wrap, newspaper held down by a few stones, etc.

You could also try liberally sprinkling the area with cayenne pepper or something else they won't like the smell of.

• doucanoe
    17 years ago

Could you just set up a temporary wire "fence" in front of it until they get the hint? Or maybe set a bench in front of it for a while?

Otherwise a firm "NO!" whenever you see them marking it, but you would have to be out there with them at all times to be consistent.

Linda

• twohuskies
    17 years ago

If your dogs are anything like my male than I would say a firm No every time it happens won't be enough to get them to stop. Marking is an instinct and becomes a very strong habit. Do they mark other things when you take them on walks?

You could try rabbit & dog repellant but I'm not sure it would work. I read somewhere that hosta stand up very well to waterings from dogs. Maybe you could plant a ring of large growing hosta around it as a sort of barrier.