Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ich_bin_nathan

Human Waste Fertilizer

ich_bin_nathan
16 years ago

No joke,

I just bought some human waste fertilizer [yes, it has been treated] that is supposed to keep dear/bunnies away as well as fertilze. Has anyone else ever heard of this? Does anyone have any thoughts? Do you think it will work? Do you think I will have to reapply it after every rain?

I wanted to see what everyone thought because I am seriously debating taking it back.

If I should take it back...does anyone have any suggestions for me to do to keep the deer away?

Thanks in advance,

Nathan

Comments (6)

• posieh
    16 years ago

WOW !!I'd be scared to death of that stuff and I wonder if it is even legal to sell it and where would they get it? We were always taught that you never put human or dog or cat waste in your garden for fear of parsites. I'm not an expert, but I wouldn't use it! I've heard of children getting round worms from their sand boxes as the cats had also used it. Ask more folks.

• leaveswave
    16 years ago

Nathan, I commend you for seeking out facts on this topic.

As a Master Gardener we are taught about the dangers of untreated human or other carnivores waste. If composted hot enough or perhaps treated in other ways, it MIGHT be perfectly safe. I would wonder if those processes would also remove/alter the factors that would keep deer or rabbits away.

You might find some sources of information on the Soil, Compost & Mulch forum, or by doing a google search of reputable websites (hint: limit your search to .edu domains).