Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mandolls

Do you top your tomatoes in August?

mandolls
10 years ago

I have never done this before, but am considering topping my tomatoes next week. By topping, I mean pruning all of the growing tips and not allowing any more flowers to form, in the hope of encouraging all of the energy to go towards developing the existing fruit.

The various plants each have between 20 & 40 tomatoes forming, and lots more flowers that are potential fruit, but none of the tomatoes are showing color yet.

Do any of you do this? and when?

Comments (8)

• northernmn
    10 years ago

I have topped my tomatoes in the past, and it was around this time of year. However, on the "growing tomatoes" forum, here on the Garden Web, they don't recommend it.
    My tomato cages are 5ft tall and I used to trim at about 18" up from that. This year, I'm going to let some "collapse" down the outside of the cage and see what happens. Some may get a little pruning.

The guru's on the tomato forum explained that you don't gain that much my trimming them back. Seems odd to me, but they are more intense tomato gardeners than I am. There are several threads on this topic on that forum. Check them out.

Below are some of my tomatoes. Most of the plants in the foreground are a little over 6ft. This picture was taken about 2 weeks ago. Yesterday I noticed that some vines have collapsed. If they tear open, I'll prune them off.

• mandolls
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for responding. I actually did post the question on the Tomato forum after a few days of no responses here.

I didnt have anyone say not to do it, and several people who do start pruning in August.

I decided to go for it. It makes sense to me. If flower to ripe time is in the 60 day range then anything that hasnt started by now will not be likely to be edible before frosts kill the plants.