Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mycalicogirls

What is best in MN for hummingbirds?

mycalicogirls
15 years ago

I have a hummingbird visiting my garden. I am new to zone 4 and need to know the best perennial plant for this area (south eastern MN) to attract hummingbirds. Thanks! Molly

Comments (20)

• jel48
    15 years ago

Hi Molly. I've moved away now but I lived in Rochester and in Owatonna over the past 14 years. I've had great luck with honeysuckle (perennial), petunias (annual), tropical hibiscus and fuschia (also tropical). There are many others, but these are my favorites. I always go buy a big hanging basket of petunias early in the spring and put them out as 'hummingbird bait' :-)

• rubybaby43
    15 years ago

I usually put out a feeder and make my own food but this summer we are very busy and I didn't want to worry about the food spoiling.

I hung a huge petunia basket from the feeder hook and still get the hummies coming. I've also seen them at my penstemon...even though they aren't the showiest flowers for attracting hummingbirds they really like anything tubular.

Kristy :)

• Nettie
    15 years ago

In my garden the perennials that attract hummingbirds the most are columbine and heuchera. I have an annual salvia in a patio pot that is keeping them busy this week as well.

• pondwelr
    15 years ago

Trumpet vine and honeysuckle vines are huge draws for hummers. If you have a place to grow them, go for it.
    If not, as advised above, any thing tubular will attract.
    Especially red and orange. Pondy

• dirtbert
    15 years ago

Whenever we have friends/family over they will see hummingbirds in my flower gardens and comment "you should put out a hummingbird feeder". And I always think, well why? The hummingbirds are already here...LOL