Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
westsidegardener

beginner advice?

westsidegardener
16 years ago

Hi there,

I'm new to this forum and kind of new to gardening (I've been doing some container gardening in my apartment). I'll be moving into a house in August, and I'm looking for good advice on "jump starting" my garden for next year. Please let me know if you have any advice as to what I can/cannot plant, and helpful tips if you have them!

Here is what I'd like to have in my garden:

grapes

raspberries

blueberries

lily of the valley

any kind of shade climber for a trellis

chinese lanterns

I'm open to other suggestions as well...I just want to have a semi-successful garden going when the ground thaws next spring!

Thanks for your time and input!

Emily

Comments (7)

• joyfulsnowflake
    16 years ago

First of all, I am a newbie too.

My Chinese Lanterns died last winter.

Lily of the Valley grows really well, almost invasive, in my garden.

I cannot find any table grape that's hardy to our zone (4). My parents have some in their garden. The squirrels always eat them first, we get the left overs.

Ying

• hoghaven_duluthmn
    16 years ago

Check out the Minnesota Extension service site listed below--a very good resource.

Some things you might be able to do if you have time:
    1) Get your soil tested. Blueberries have some specific soil requirements and you can amend your soil accordingly.
    2) Look into "lasagna gardening." If you have time, you might be able to get some planting beds ready for next spring using this method. Do an internet search.
    3) Start making compost--save your leaves, grass clippings, perhaps some kitchen scraps.
    4) Sign up for some catalogs (again, internet search). Winter is a great time to dream and pick out plant varieties. Most catalogs will start arriving in January, some may come for fall.
    5) Speaking of fall, you can plant some tulips or daffodils, or other spring bulbs.