Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
theims3

Starting perennials from seed

theims3
14 years ago

Hello there!

I am wondering if it is too late to start some perennials from seed and get them in the ground yet this year. I know there's plenty of time for germination, but will they have the time to get established and come back next spring? At least in our area of Minnesota (southern Twin Cities), we usually don't get a hard frost until the first or even second week of October.

I'm hoping that some of the more experienced flower gardeners have some advice--my area is usually vegetables, and I'm just getting into perennial gardening.

Here is a list, directly from our Park Seed order, of what we purchased:

1. ASTILBE X ARENDSII MIX

2. ASCLEPIAS GAY BUTTERFLIES (BUTTERFLY WD)

3. DELPHINIUM SUMMER MIX

4. DIANTHUS SIBERIAN BLUES (HARDY PINKS)

5. CENTAUREA MONTANA (BACHELORS BUTTON)

6. PEPPERMINT (this one I'm moving indoors in the fall for tea)

7. PRUNELLA FREELANDER MIX

8. CONEFLOWER (ECHINACEA) WHITE SWAN

9. RUDBECKIA CAPPUCCINO

Thank you in advance for any help and advice!

Comments (7)

• ptilda
    14 years ago

My concern with starting seeds now is the fact that it's been so cool and dry! I'm affraid my garden is thinking it's October!

• garystpaul
    14 years ago

The only one of these I have a lot of experience with is the delphinium. I buy or collect my own seed (it doesn't keep well and should be planted fresh) and germinate inside in my propagation box (about 3' x 4' with shop lights that can be raised and lowered). These will usually bloom a bit the first year. Some of the others I've tried using this method as well, but they take the entire season to get established.

Another thought: check out the winter sowing sites (including GW). I should think any of these seeds, including delphinium, could be winter sown.