Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carmellia_gw

Grape growers

carmellia
15 years ago

Reading the post about vines to cover a pergola there were some very interesting comments about grapes. I hope the people who made the comments will read this post.

I want to grow grapes and I want to turn my clothes line posts into the arbor. I know I will have to attach some sort of extention that will raise the height of the top cross pieces. In other words, this is going to end up being a very gerry-rigged, MacGiver sort of thing (read, ugly). So, I am wondering just how fast can I expect new grape vines that are happy and healthy to cover up an arbor that would be about 6 feet wide and 25 feet long? Also, do the vines remain to cover the structure during the winter?

I have no experience with grapes so I don't know what to expect. Also, if you have any comments about cultivated as opposed to wild grapes, or what varieties grow best here in our Minnesota climate, and will appreciate any information you care to offer. Carmellia

Comments (5)

• hoghaven_duluthmn
    15 years ago

Go for it. The tender "table" grapes are probably NOT what you want. I have grown pink, white, and red seedless grapes in zone 4 and they will produce good table grapes, but they need to be dropped on the ground for winter and covered with straw. My grape from Jung's "King of the North" has survived climate conditions near Detroit Lakes and Duluth without winter cover on the arbor. It just grows and grows no matter what the conditions, dry, hot, cold, wet--doesn't seem to matter. I think the King of the North is probably very similar to another variety called "Valiant" or a beta grape, but I have had very good luck with "King of the North". There are probably other good ones out there.