Return to the Minnesota Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
master gardener sponsored plant swap!

Posted by leaveswave (MN z4) (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 19, 07 at 11:00

We have our a fall meeting in Plymouth every year and also host a plant swap. Here are the details for this year:

Monday, 09/10
5:00 pm
Plymouth Creek Ctr, 14800 34th Av N

Also, take the opportunity to tour the Millenium Garden behind the building.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: master gardener sponsored plant swap!

Sorry, but I am still new to this. Can you tell a little bit about plannt swaps and what you should bring to this? I mean... besides the obvious. How many do people typically bring? What is good to bring? It will be my first plant swap, but I am definately interested in contributing.
Thank you!

o

Hi there and THANKS Leaves!
GB- This swap is a bit different than any other I have gone to. People bring almost anything garden/plant related- pots- books- trellis- tools- fishpond fish(!)- Mini Blinds- Bulbs- tubers- fruit and produce- and of course- many potted and labeled plants.
You drive in- park your vehicle- unload what you are offering behind your vehicle- and walk around and help yourself to what ever anyone else is offering- load up your own unwanted/unclaimed offerings- and go home. Fini.
It is a swap- so bringing something to swap is the idea- but you are not limited to/by any amount that I know of. I have routinely seen truck loads- to a flat or two in the trunk.
It is a good idea to bring a sharpie and paper to help in IDing the plants that show up with out labels- there always seem to be a few.... Most folks bring what they need to or are able to thin- or what they have enough of - or too much of- or just plain want to get rid of that someone else may want. Native to exotic- common to rare- indoor to outdoor- it all goes at this swap (and most others as well).