Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ich_bin_nathan

Planting mums

ich_bin_nathan
16 years ago

On to the next question...

Today I got some average mums from Walmart for like a buck seventy five. They say that they can be planted outside and will survive the winter if mulched well, but I am not expecting much. I have never done mums before so I am not really sure about anything. Do you think that they will survive-or do you think that they are just some cheap variety? If they do survive I was wondering to what dimensions they get...height/width/spread. And how long is their bloom season? Also, what kind of soil they tolerate/hate.

Thanks a lot,

Nathan

Comments (17)

• rubybaby43
    16 years ago

I have had mums over-winter for several years....until we had a harsh cold winter with little snowcover. I am not one to mulch so if I had I may very well still have those mums!

Good luck!
    Kristy :)

• hostaholic2 z 4, MN
    16 years ago

Your mums survival rate will likely be tied to amount of snow cover we get. I have occasionally had mums of the type you're talking about make it a year or two. Usually mums have the best chance of surviving if they are planted in the spring and if you plant Mn hardy mums. Check out Busse Gardens. They carry a good selection.

• Julie
    16 years ago

Hey there Nathan-
    I bought some fall planters @ late in the season @ 75% off @ Franks many many years ago and still have the mums and heucheras from those planters going strong! I have to dig up at least half of the mums every late spring to keep them the size I want them where I have them. They want to be at least 36" all around, and work hard to get there! I do not water often enough- and have not mulched these ever- although I leave the leaves lie on them till spring.
    I have also purchased "hardy" mums from nurseries that have not survived. Same goes for the really pretty (not hardy) varieties I have tried....