Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grapevinegal

Fall Prep Primer for a Newbie

grapevinegal
10 years ago

Hello!

This is my first year planting and I worked my tail off to make my yard beautiful!
Fall is near - I feel a bit terrified. (stop laughing!!)
Now what do I do?!
Possibly I missed it, but is there a post that outlines basic MN Fall Prep? Or if there is a website you could direct me to?
There is so much contradicting info on the web...so thought I'd ask you folks:)

Plants:
Hostas
Perenials
Clematis
Wysteria
Jap. Maple Tree (MN Hardy)
Arborvitae ( TREE & SHRUBS)

Questions:
Fertilize? If so, when?
Remove mulch and replace it with anything?
When/if to prune Hostas?
How far down and when to prune Clematis?
Soil prep?

Thank so Much!

Comments (8)

• soilent_green
    10 years ago

"Fall is near - I feel a bit terrified." - Understandable for a newb, but calm down, sit back, and take the next couple weeks to enjoy all that you have worked so hard to achieve. (Although for a true gardener there is always something to tinker around with - nothing is ever "finished" in gardening.) The next big step in the gardening season will be the first hard frost sometime in September, maybe October if it occurs later than average.

If you were to do absolutely nothing to prep your lawn or flower/veg gardens before the snow flies odds are everything would still winter over just fine, you would just have a little more work come springtime to get things looking nice. Think of fall as the beginning of the next season, not the end of the current one - cleanup is in fact prep for next year and this way of thinking gets me fired up to get the work completed.

Lawn can be fertilized with a low nitrogen fertilizer in late fall if you want to. I never do - I do lawn stuff in spring and it works out just fine. Only critical chores with lawn in fall is to get the leaves off and mow it one last time as close to the first snow as possible.