Return to the Minnesota Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Cannas

Posted by snickers_gardener 4 (My Page) on
Wed, Sep 6, 06 at 16:54

Can anybody tell me when and what I should do with my cannas now that fall is upon us???

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Cannas

This is my first year with canna lilies as well (thank you julie_mn - I believe I got a plant from you this spring at the plant swap at Rick's). I believe the following is true (someone please correct me if I am wrong):

Enjoy them for another month or so. . . Then after the first light frost, dig up the tubers and store them in a cool dark/dry location for the winter. Re-plant the tubers next spring either directly outside or give them an early start indoors. . .

- Adam

o

Hey there-
That is about it in a nutshell. Adam- so glad you enjoyed!
I will wait till a frost that damages the tops- with clear skies predicted for a day of two afterwards. I then dig them up trying not to damage the main tuber. I don't knock off too much of the soil just then as I want it to protect the root ball while the plant heals from where I cut the top off of the tuber about 2" off of the ball of dirt or tuber. I leave them to lay in the sun to dry and heal a day or two- sometimes you may need to protect them from a heavy frost with a blanket- or by hauling them in a shed at night- and then I knock off the dirt- let them dry a bit more- pop them into a paper grocerie bag and bring them to a cold corner of the basement. I will chek them about once a month to be sure there is no rot- or severe drying going on throughout the winter.
I do know of people who have let their cannas grow on in pots indoors through the winter as well.
In the spring- I will break apart the bulbs if desired, making sure there is an 'eye' to each peice and then either pot up or after last frost- plant out.