Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heleninramsey

Polling MN rosers...you too ND

heleninramsey
16 years ago

I have been growing Hybrid Tea roses for about 4 years now, with good success, in fact I have fallen in love with them and built a new garden for them. I still have a bunch to learn and I am wondering when my fellow gardeners put them to bed for the winter and how they deside when to do it, are you driven by weather? schedule? do you do it the same time each year or just when you have time before it is too late? Helen.

Comments (4)

• twohuskies
    16 years ago

I'm growing a large number of roses but only a couple that would fall into the hybrid tea/grandiflora/floribunda category. The vast majority of them get no winter protection at all. For the ones that do get a little protection timing mostly depends on the weather and somewhat on my own personal schedule. This year I'm WAY behind but the decent weather has been helping me out. I think the standard suggestion is to shoot for mid-late October. The last few years my form of winter protection has been put in place early November. OTOH I'm dealing with hardy to semi-hardy roses which don't require nearly as much work as the tender HTs.

• john_w
    16 years ago

I'm driven by the weather. I want to mulch my roses. Do it too soon with the soil is warm and the plants are not quite dormant, and you get fungus problems. Do it too late, when the mulch freezes, and you have to take sledge hammer to loosen it up. Or, the big snowstorm comes and everything is covered with snow that lasts for months and you can't get at the roses.

I pay attention, but I usually get them covered up by the 2-3 week of November unless a huge weather event is on the way. I uncover in mid--late March.

• ladylotus
    16 years ago

Helen,