Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peggy_hosta

Any cactus gardeners in zone 4?

peggy_hosta
15 years ago

I'm already planning new gardens for next summer and am considering a cactus/succulent garden. From what I've read, opuntias are my best bet.Any suggestions?

I'd like to see pics of your cactus gardens!

Peggy

Comments (15)

• giantslug
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I am planning on planting a garden of cacti and succulents as as well. I have been growing some hardy cacti in pots for several years now. I currently have Opuntia fragilis, Opuntia humifusa, and Opuntia polyacantha. They overwinter in an unheated shed so they are definitely cold hardy! I have had no blooms yet, since I started them from seed and they are only 3 years old. This summer I bought an Escobaria vivipara from Iotts Nursery near Ward, SD. I read that it is hardy to zone 3 but I am wintering in the garage until I plant it outdoors.

• Julie
    15 years ago

I do not have hardy cactus- although I do have some succulents that come back every year long enough for me to see them- then the bunnies eat em up...
    Leftwood has some he has grown from seed!! I do hope he adds his 3 cents.
    Julie

• zenpotter
    15 years ago

I have a cactus and succulent garden that is on the south side of my house. Some of the plants are in their 4th winter. It has a slight slope away from the house so no
    water collects. I dug out about 1/3 of the soil and added gravel and sand to give it good drainage.

I have the following cactus. These are all Optunia: polyacantha, ymochila, fragilis, humifusa, kleinae, macronhiza, fragilis little Gray mound. Also; Yucca glauca, Echinocereus viridiflours, Escobaria vivipara, Escobaria leei, Escobaria missouriensis.

Last spring the Friends Plant Sale had several kinds of hardy cactus. I even purchased one that bloomed before I got it into the ground.