Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ahrey_smith_gw

Texas moon garden suggestions?

Ahrey_Smith
21 years ago

I am fairly new to Texas gardening and am considering a moon garden just off my patio so I can enjoy my garden when I am home ... actually have to work during the day (Why can't I be as rich as I am dead sexy?):)

Anyhow, I have thick clay soil w/about 3"-4" of compost tilled in. full sun in the front of the bed and partial shade in the back. I also love butterflies, moths, and fireflies.

I am planting a white crepe myrtle in the front corner of the bed and some lily-of-the-nile along a path through the middle.

Any other suggestions?

Comments (7)

• burntplants
    21 years ago

Moonflowers: morning glories grow so well here they're sometimes invasive---moonflowers are slower to take off, but still do well and grow easily from seed.

White roses: Hybrid Teas take a lot of care, but TAMU-designated Earthkind roses take minimal care beyond sun and water. run a websearch on "Texas Earthkind" and you should find it. There are many shrub and old fashioned roses that do well here.
    Ducher is a china rose I've had lots of luck with, and it blooms and keeps it's leaves all winter, too. If you have room for a large climber, Madame Alfred Carriere is one of the best smelling roses ever. Perle D'or is a pale peach polyantha that fades to white in the summer and it's fragrance wafts at night. checkout http://www.helpmefind.com/rose/searchPlants.php?noreset
    to find pics and info about these roses.

Texas Sage: ok, not a sage, or a flower, but this shrub has gray foliage and wonderful lavender flowers in spring. The foliage really shows up at night. It's a low-water plant that comes in different sized varieties.

White Petunias: these annuals are great in the Spring, but burn in August.

Sweet Alyssum: easy to grow from seed, this annual will last into the winter.