Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
moongardengirl

Moon Garden Plant Questions

moongardengirl
16 years ago

Moon Garden Plant Questions

I have been moving around a lot since I left home seven years ago and have been dreaming of someday having a permanent place to start a moon garden. Had to have pots at every rental (in the Army). I loved all the pictures from justjoeygirl (JoAnn), I am so encouraged. I have a few questions. For starters, how do you post pictures? I wanted to show you my dirt pile covered in snow here in zone 3 that will become a garden this spring, Lord willing. I plan on starting my seeds in doors and ordering from a few places DaveÂs Garden recommended and plan on 90% perennials and everything white but my daylilies. I have about ten MunsonÂs that I love that are red/purple.

I plan on Royal Star Magnolia, Annabelle Hydrangea, Mock Orange, a white Rosa, Silver Lace Vine, Duchess de Nemours Paeonia, Iris, Blueberry, Moon Vine, White Bleeding Heart, Cone Flower, Daisies, Daffodil, Fern, Poppy, Columbine, Hosta.

JoAnn, I like your idea of Minnesota Snowflake Mock Orange but I read it only blooms about 10 days. Is that true for you or do yours bloom longer?

Please tell me what you think of my plans. It has been living in my head so long and I have been saving to long to pick all the wrong things an have it fail. I live in zone 3 and it will be about 25x25. My DH feeds the deer so it has to have a major deer fence, 8 foot posts and fence. DH is not into plants at all, in fact before we met (30 year old bachelor) he had his yard removed and he put down class 5 so the whole yard front and back is a driveway, yes his neighbors love him. Lucky we only have two neighbors.

Do you think covering my fence with Silver Lace Vine (itÂs not invasive in my zone) will work or maybe Sweet Autumn Clematis would be better. I want a Âblock out the world effect if possible.