Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dragonstar_gw

New to moonflowers...

Dragonstar
19 years ago

I have always loved the look of white morning glories, and recently discovered seeds for a night blooming flowering vine discribed only as 'moon flower'. It looks just like the white morning glories that I grew up with and I was wondering if anyone could tell me how best to start these seeds. I have tried on several occasions with little or no success. Warm and moist, not wet, is what I have been told, but still no luck. Also, can I plant these with my morning glories so I have these beautiful blossoms both day and night? I am new to gardening in general, and I would be very thankful for any help or advice...Thanks in advance to all.

Comments (4)

• angiebug
    19 years ago

This is my first attempt as well. I started mine on Feb 17, using jiffy pellets. I attempted to nick the seeds as suggested, but couldn't penetrate the outside of the seed, so I just put the seeds in the pellets and covered with a thin layer of the peat. Keep them moist and WARM. Mine sprouted within a couple of days. Warmth is very important...here in the south, we have a warm spring, so I started taking mine outside where they'd get more light. One day a cold front came through before I could get home and bring them inside...they were all droopy and sad. I put my heating pad underneath for a few hours and they perked back up. The roots do grow pretty quickly, so within about 2 weeks, I had to put them into larger peat pots. I didn't remove them from the jiffy pellets, just put soilless mix into a 4 inch peat pot and planted the pellet and plant in the pot. I have heard that they don't like transplanting, so I didn't want to do anything to traumatize them anymore than I already had. Mine are currently about 10 inches tall and growing. I keep them outside now, but still protect them when the nights dip below 55. Good luck!

• LindaMA
    19 years ago