Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hedgwytch

When do your Daturas bloom???

hedgwytch
17 years ago

I have yet to see an open bloom on my Datura! I know they bloom...I see the buds in the day, watch them start to open up at night, then in the morning, they're droopy and have seed pods starting. I can't stay up late enough for them! I'm CST, so it's about 11:40 pm, and they're not even halfway open. I've gone out at 1 or 2 am, nothing! Then, gotten up at the crack of dawn, like 4:30 or 5 am, still nothing!

What's the deal??? LOL!

HW

Comments (11)

• tomn66
    17 years ago

This is my first year growing them. The first bloom stayed open a couple of days. The rest are like you describe.

• david_oklahoma
    17 years ago

HW, I know how disappointing that is. I must say mine are doing very well, with an abundance of blooms each morning, now.

How many bushes do you have, HW? I have so many this year, and so many still coming up.

It's been a great growing season for everything, here. Two nights ago the deer completely leveled my strawberries and tomatoes. That was a deciding factor for me. The novelty of all these deer has definitely worn off. I may not get many strawberries or fresh, home grown tomatoes, this year, but I will have fresh, packaged, venison to give as gifts to friends. Thats a fact!!!!

• hedgwytch
    Original Author
    17 years ago

LOL David! I almost feel sorry for the deer. But I know what you mean. I had watermelons last year (only 2 plants) and the gophers let them get to about tennis ball size before they ate them! Arrrrgh!