Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
smelly_cat40

Dying for Moon Garden: need zone 5 suggestions!

smelly_cat40
20 years ago

Hi Everybody,

I am fairly new to gardening (about a year) and have taken a serious interest in a a moon garden. I've done some light research but have been disappointed that many of the flowers are outside zone 5.

Now I don't know how wise it is to stray from your zone but my guess is there is some room for movement. Can anyone make any suggestions on what I can plant for a succesful moon garden? Both perennials and annuals are fine.

Thanks!

P.S. don't know if this matters but I'm in the city of Chicago and about 5 miles from the lake.

Comments (25)

• smelly_cat40
    Original Author
    20 years ago

whoops, also forgot to ask, can I plant a moon garden in full sun as well as the shade? I'm guessing you plan your moon garden according to where it will be located during daylight hours.

I have more sun than shade and thought I'd have to get full sun plants. If I did do full sun plants, say tall thick ones, then could I put shade plants below them?

Thanks again!

• Marigene
    20 years ago

I have moonflowers planted on the southside of my house and they get lots of sun and do great. I have seeds if you would like some.

• LaBella
    20 years ago

Greetings,
    have you tried 4 o'clocks?
    Mirabilis japonica I think is the latin name for them.
    They are easy to start from seed, develope a tuber that winters over in all but the coldest zones. Some treat them as Dahlias because the tubers are similar. Perhaps a bit of mulch would be sufficient in your zone.