Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
perrynewbegining

new moonvine lover! this is my first year.

perrynewbegining
13 years ago

I got my moonvine started from the seed that my boyfriend's mother had given me. I saw her vine and was in awe, the blooms were the most beautiful thing I had ever seen and I was just tickled that they bloomed at night. Different than anything I had ever come across before. She told me to soak them in water,(didn't know about the filing or scoreing though)once it would open I was to plant it in the soil.

I soaked them for about 6 to 8 weeks changing the water and nothing happened. I got one that had sprouted from the seed and two more that hadn't from her since mine hadn't done anything and I just took a chance and planted them in soil instead. I watered them every day and checked on them every day and nothing. I gave up after about 1 1/2 months thinking I just didn't have what it took. But I kept watering them and checking on them every couple days just incase in hopes I was wrong. Low and behold, I finally had one pop up out of the soil and then another one. Then I planted another one in another pot and that one worked out fine.

So, after that I thought what if we take a clipping off of one and put it in water to get roots? That's something my mom used to do all the time when I was a kid. So, we tried it and it worked. It got several roots, so we planted and we are waiting to see how it comes along.