Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suz9601

Need help,not sure what to plant (pics included)

suz9601
10 years ago

Hi guys. I am about to landscape down the side of my fence and am not sure what I should put there. I am fairly new to gardening (have a couple of years under my belt) but feel overwhelmed at the blank slate I have. I was wondering if you all have any ideas. The area is about 35-40 feet long. The middle part is about 3-4 deep and around the tree and at the other end, maybe 5-6 feet deep from fence. I am looking for shrubs and perennials mainly. Thanks for any ideas. I really appreciate any help. The area gets full sun. I hope you can make out the area I have marked with the extension cord in the pic.

Comments (5)

• suz9601
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Close up of one end of the garden area.

• suz9601
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Close up of other end of garden area.

• pondwelr
    10 years ago

First kill the grass with 3 layers of newspapers covered with mulch.
    Some easy and beautiful plants include Goldstrum rudbeckia, tall grasses along the back, sedums, daylily,
    spring bulbs. If you look for shrubs, Virburnum has many varieties, many are fragrant. It looks good to find an easy
    edger plant that flows along the front of your border bed.
    Lambs ear is easy and pretty.
    Good luck with your new border garden. Sharon

• nana8
    10 years ago

I prefer to use a flat or two of Salvia in red to draw the hummingbirds as an edger

• mehitabel
    10 years ago

Suz-- you're so luck to have such a big space in full sun.

Here's my suggestions:

1. Work out some sort of curve that's pleasing to the eye. Use a hose or paint to mark it out. Curves are much nicer than straight lines, and you get varying depths that way.