Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jamlover

Favorite best scented shrubs for zone 5 or colder

jamlover
19 years ago

I am just getting into shrubs. Have lots of perennials and would like to add shrubs to the beds. Am interested in knowing your best fragrant shrubs for zone 5 or colder.

Comments (20)

• stinkypink
    19 years ago

It's hard for most Midwesterners not to think of lilacs, and they're among my favorites too, but for that first hit of spring perfume, I really like my viburnum. I used to have a star magnolia I really liked the scent of too, and while mock oranges smell divine later in the season, I've never found them to be the world's most dependable bloomers. People keep saying that witchhazel smells nice, but I'm never all that interested in tromping through the snow to sniff them up.

• jamlover
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Pitimpinai, What color is that buddleia? Hope it is also one of the more hardy ones!! And a lilac without mildew!! Bring it on. Color?
    Stinkypink, any particular mock orange or viburnum? I'm really on the line between zone 4 and 5 so not so far removed.

• bellarosa
    19 years ago

I love lilacs. I have two wonderful varieties: Miss Kim and Donald Wyman. Both are disease free and have a great fragrance.

• stinkypink
    19 years ago