Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
freefour

When to plant Peas and Cole crops

freefour
19 years ago

Hello Midwest Gardeners

I am pretty new to gardening. I have two 4' X 12' raised bed ready to go for my first crops Peas, Broccoli, Cauliflower, and maybe Cabbage.

I am in 6a. Everything I read said wait until April 1 on Peas and April 30 for the cole crops. Isn't that really late? I was thinking peas and cole crops love the cold.

I thought about starting the Peas on Feb 15th and the getting the cole crop transplants in the ground around March 1st.

When do you all plant these crops?

Also, how early do you start your seeds for cole crops? Generally, I heard 8 weeks is what you want. I was watching a shop last night that said Cauliflower will be stressed if not planted before 5 weeks.

Any suggestions from personal experience would be greatly appreciated!

--freefour

Comments (7)

• cantstopgardening
    19 years ago

Because our winters can be soooo variable, I like to plant a succession of these type crops. That way, if my earliest planting gets froze out, I have another one just planted that should make it.

I have had peas 'self-seed' that where left in the garden over winter, so I know they can take some Wisconsin winter punishment. I've planted potatoes, peas, spinach, and cole crops on St. Patrick's Day, (Ides of March would be another date to help remember. Or even Tax day- yuck!) here in Wisconsin with some success. (Some of the cole crops seeds were a might old, so spotty germination was propably due to old seed more than weather. The potatoes and spinach have always done well for me. And the problem I have with growing peas in early spring has more to do with my dog's affection for eating them than the weather.