Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rose2788

Fall Wedding

Rose2788
12 years ago

Hello all!! I am new to gardenweb and I am a resident of southern Indiana (Zone 5). I'm getting married on my property on September 8, 2012. I would LOVE to plant my own flowers for the wedding. As many as I can get to grow. I'm pretty open to anything. I'm not a seasoned gardener but I'm willing to try my best. I would love any suggestions you ladies would like to share, thanks in advance!!

Comments (3)

• Zinnia1
    12 years ago

Congratulations on your wedding! One thing you will want to keep in mind when planting your flowers is that by September, most flowers will be mature and getting 'leggy.' I would stay with flowers that will hold well through early September. Easy to grow flowers include marigolds, zinnias (my fav), begonias, salvias, sunflowers, and geraniums (gerums) including scented geraniums. Geraniums like cooler weather and will bounce back nicely as September rolls around and be lovely. These may seem like simple, old fashioned flowers, but they are easy to grow, come in a variety of colors, and look good late in the season. Planted in mass, they are quite understated and elegant. There are perennials that bloom in late summer, early fall that are lovely, but if they are small and not established, they may disappoint. Roses come to mind!

Around September, nurseries will start bringing out cool weather annuals like pansies, violas, and flowering kale. You can always supplement what is in the ground with lovely pots of these purchased annuals.

Not matter what you decide, this is your day and your beauty will outshine any flower you have!!!!

• skimmton_chi
    12 years ago