Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sheltieche

Chicago area plant swaps?

sheltieche
17 years ago

Looking forward to any future spring early summer Chicago area

swaps. Anything that is annual event one can pretty much count on?

I have been growing plants from seeds for several years. This year proves to be very sucessful, my indoor set up lights are full and I have good amount of seeds outdoor for winter sowing.

Since my garden is full I am positively will be looking for people to give my seedlings to, mostly I grow plants for shade, some natives and such.

I live north suburb of Chicago.

Comments (13)

• tcs1366
    17 years ago

I'm just getting into the "seed thing" and just starting to browse for seeds. (Hope i'm not getting a late start for wintersowing)

I have some IDOT property behind my house where i'm planning on doing a lot of sunflowers and wild flowers.

Though i'm always interested in colorful flowers for the north side of my home, where i don't have much color.

Honestly -- i'd be interest in any freebies.... or just tips.

oh - i'm just west of Ohare.

• abcgirltx
    17 years ago

hi lindalana. I moved to the NW suburbs of Chicago September last year, from the Dallas area. We had spring and fall swaps there which were great. I'd be very interested in any up here. I have lots of area for new plants, and am trying some wintersowing and also some greenhouse growing of seeds, so hope to have stuff to share. Gardening here will be pretty different from Texas, so meeting some experienced chicago area gardeners would be great.

Alicia

• stage_rat
    17 years ago

Last year, late winter, there were posts mentioning a possible Chicago-area swap. But nothing happened! I'd really love to do a swap. Extra seedlings (flowers and veggies), perennial divisions, and maybe even seeds? Please, let's make it happen this spring!