Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
crelatia_gw

Kumquat tree in Chicago

Crelatia
11 years ago

Hello All,
I'm a proficient novice gardener. The past two years I've fallen in love with my tiny community garden plot and have been amazed with how much Great Tasting produce I've had (enough to share). So, this winter I started growing stuff inside too. The micro greens have been successful, but I'm never sure how my kumquat tree is doing...which brings me to my question.

Is there anybody out there growing an indoor potted Kumquat tree in Chicago (or near by)? I purchased my kumquat in Nov. and within a couple weeks replaced the soil with the "gritty mix" suggested on this site. My tree seems to be doing well, it's flowering modestly, and there is new leaf growth, but i'm never quite sure. If there is anybody else growing a kumquat, I would love to hear about your experiences.

Thanks so much!
Crelatia

(A little more information: after the re-potting, it lost about 1/2 it's leaves. About a month ago, I moved to a space with more light and a more steady temperature and it seemed much happier and not more dropping leaves).

Comments (5)

• olympia_gardener
    11 years ago

Hi, Crelatia, I am in northwest suburb of Chicago. I grow Meyer lemon and kumquat indoor for many years. My kumquats are turning orange color this time of year. little orange colored fruits hanging on the plants really look interesting and decorate the room very well.
    I don't keep the room temperature very high. my kumquats get afternoon sun so they are still all in semi dormant stage. No new grow or bloom yet. When Spring comes, I will take them outside then I will see a lot of new growth and flower.. I love their fragrant flowers. Smell so nice...
    How large is your tree and what type of Kumquat do you have?

• Crelatia
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hi! Thank you, Olympia Gardener for answering me.