Return to the Midwest Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Transplanting junipers

Posted by Agent_P Central Indiana (jcdav1son_405@sbcglobal.net) on
Tue, Mar 29, 05 at 20:29

Hi everyone,

I'm new to gardening and looking for a little advice I have been unable to find elsewhere. I have 3 Blue Star Junipers that were planted in permanent shade in very damp soil by the previous homeowner. I would like to transplant them and need help and advice because I have never transplanted anything before! Any help offered would be greatly appreciated.

Also, if anyone knows of a good place to learn about composting feel free to point me in the right direction, I'm starting to take up an interest in that as well. Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Transplanting junipers

Check out the soil/composting/mulch forum on gardenweb (link below) -- you'll learn lots about composting just from reading all the posts, and folks will be glad to help you out if you have specific questions.

I'm not familiar with Blue Star, but if the junipers aren't too large they won't be hard to move. Move them as soon as possible if you decide to transplant, before new growth gets started, or wait until fall. If they aren't too big, just dig them with plenty of roots (you may have to dig an area larger than the spread of the branches to get most of the roots) and plant them in a hole big enough to accomodate the roots. You don't want to have to twist the roots in the new hole -- they should spread out in a natural way. You may have to dig down a bit to getting all the main roots. Fill the hole in carefully so you don't have any air pockets, and don't forget to water well. Mulching helps, too.

Junipers, at least in my experience, are pretty tough so you shouldn't have too much trouble.