I am curious to hear from anybody that is currently growing following:

Epiphyllum anguliger,

epiphyllym vista sun,

epiphyllum oxypetalum,

aporophyllumm edna belany,

Rhipsalidopsis rosea,

aloinopsis schoonesii, and finally a passiflora 'coral glow'

I'd want to know growthrate and how they do with our crabby winters,

I am trying to fill the void with blooming+fragrance over the moths nov-feb.

I am about to buy 2'5 pots and am wondering if I even have a fighting chance.. ( i'm a novice)

Is it true that passifloras will not bloom without 6 hrs sun?

I read the coral glow supposedly 'prefers' to bloom in winter...?

all advice greatly appreciated.!

klk

Comments (5)

• birdsnblooms
    19 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

KLK, I've several epi's, rhipsalidopsis, and they grow w/o any problems. It's true passionvine need light, but if you can summer it outdoors, there's no reason it shouldn't bloom..I don't know what coral glow is..do u have another name/botanical name? Do u mean Kalanchoe? If this is the plant yes, it blooms late fall/winter. W/over 400 houseplants, and living in a Chicago burb, I grow all types of tropicals including citrus which flower/fruit.
    good luck, Toni

• Kerstin_Linnea
    Original Author
    19 years ago

heya T!
    Good to see you again, I was hoping to hear from you,
    I remeber you well from last year when you helped me out with my light/radiator sit.
    I don't know if you remember and it does not matter, just don't get confused when I talk in familliar ways. LOL

(Albany prk, rented, awful windows, no proper daylight in kitchen, radiator running along the lenght of the only good window)
    I am not suprised about the passiflora, I think I heard this before, the name is simply p.'coral glow' it has a picture posted at Logee's, look under the 'winterblooming' section.
    I am sorely tempted but your word shall determine wether I Purchase or not. (it looks like a passi,and the blooming description snagged me)