Return to the Midwest Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Moving my garden

Posted by barbiejo 5 (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 29, 06 at 1:24

I have some landscaping that I have been working on for a few years. I just recently bought a new house and this is going to sound weird, but I want to take my perennials with me. Because many of them are not well established, I have this fear that the new owners of this property will not understand the treatment of such plants or know what they are. Because I am moving from a rental home to buying my own home, I have no control in telling the next people of what I have planted. My garden consists of cannas, roses, hydrangeas, astilbe and variagated weigela that are in the ground. I also have many others (such as chinese wisteria, etc) that I never put in the ground because I felt I would be moving within the next 6 months. I am thinking that I should dig the holes for my plants before I move in and transplant them immediately. Any suggestions?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Moving my garden

Sounds like a good idea....but if you are digging the holes in advance, you might want to cover them with plastic or put mulch in them so they won't dry out before you can get your plants in.

o

Whenever I have moved, I have taken plants with me. I divide my ordinary plants and take many of my special plants. Tough plants like daylilies and hostas can remain bareroots for at least a week so long as they are kept moist and in the shade.

When I move them, I dig them out with a little dirt still left on their root balls. Then I place them in large Rubbermaid tubs. YOu can place several plants in a tub. I spray, but don't soak, the roots every day until they are planted.

o

• Posted by kec01 5 Chicago IL (My Page) on
    Wed, Jul 5, 06 at 7:24