Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elisabeth_rose_gw

Help!!!!!

elisabeth_rose
18 years ago

I am fairly new at seroius gardening, but have managed to carry on and do fairly well in spite of heat, drought and various other set-backs. Now however, I may have met my match! In the last couple of weeks I have had to share my garden with a lot of HUGE beetles. They are 1.5-2 inches long, fat, medium brown and somewhat shiny. PLEASE, what are they and what can they do to my garden??? (and me!!!)

I have a lot of roses, perennials and bushes, but I am ready to cement the whole thing over and paint it green!

Any advise would be most welcome.

Comments (8)

• bellarosa
    18 years ago

Sounds like Japanese beetles. They are horrendous! Try Bayer or Sevin to get rid of them. They love roses, clematis, basically, everything! Sorry I don't have a pic, but just type Japanese beetles on the Internet and I'm sure you'll find a pic.

• elisabeth_rose
    Original Author
    18 years ago

I looked up pictures and descriptions of Japanese Beetles, and I don't think that is it. They say JB are 3/8 inches long at mature size. These are much larger, and look somewhat different too. I have not seen them on plants, just slowly crawling om the ground. I grossed myself out by reading some posts here about JB. Especially the one about the bug in the ear. I realized then that these can not be JB's, as that would be physically impossible with these monsters. What else could it be?

• Kat SE Wisconsin z5
    18 years ago

I don't know what they would be, but if they're not harming the plants, I wouldn't worry. They'll go thru their cycle and die. Unless they are harming your plants or they swarm so bad they get all over you, I wouldn't bother with chemicals. You could be doing more harm that way to beneficial insects.
    Let us know if you find out what they are.

Kat

• sushi_deluxe
    18 years ago