Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joandaugh

Vines for a pergola

joandaugh
18 years ago

With any luck, I will soon have a small pergola in my back yard (8' tall x 6' deep x 14' wide). Since we are currently trying to get rid of hundreds of little trumpet vines that keep springing up, I know better than to grow those on it. Does anyone have suggestions for the "perfect" vine to cover the pergola but not take it over, that looks beautiful but doesn't attract so many bees that humans can't sit under it? Is there such a thing? I am not so bee-phobic since I started gardening but one of my kids is very much so.

I have no experience with clematis but wonder if one of them (or a few) would be good--also wonder about grapes?? I personally love roses but I know they can become so dense . . .

Thanks for your suggestions--pictures would be great too!

Comments (14)

• joandaugh
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks for all the ideas & links. The Jackmanii is gorgeous--it's now high up on my list--thinking about combinations. I didn't realize that Virginia Creeper wasn't an ivy. I love how it turns red.

I started some morning glory seeds for the first time this spring and it's amazing because through a "gardening accident" (most of my starts got dumped over) I had only one plant come through. It has managed to fill in an empty corner of my yard on a trellis. All from one little vine. So I might use those next spring to reach the top of the pergola while the perennials are still working at it.

I love planning plantings . . .

• psnave
    18 years ago