Return to the Midwest Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What to do about grasshoppers?

Posted by peachydeva NE 5 (My Page) on
Thu, Aug 17, 06 at 12:58

I'm new to Midwest gardening and have a gazillion grasshoppers in the garden all over the roses and flower beds, they've eaten huge holes in the rhubarb leaves. What to do? I'm hesitant to use toxic sprays... are there any organic methods anyone has used with success?

Thanks,
Di

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What to do about grasshoppers?

I usually dip them in chocolate!

Lee

o

I have tons of grasshoppers every year, but soon my little "secret weapons" show up to take them on.

If you can find some, I would introduce Black and Yellow Argiope Garden spiders.....

I have a literal army of them and they really keep those darn grasshoppers (and a few other bugs) in check.

They don't creep around like other spiders...just spin a web and sit there...rarely travel...

You have to protect their egg sacs during the winter (trying not to rip them out with old plants).

Here is one from last year in action:

o

Every year I use a non-toxic Bt from groworganic.com and have lowered my population to just a small handfull each year. It costs about $12/year, only affects grasshoppers, and made a huge change in my grasshopper population (and eaten tomatoes and peppers) the first year I started it.

o

There is a product called NOLO. It's a grasshopper bait that kills only grasshoppers and doesn't harm anything else. If you google NOLO you'll be able to find a place to buy it. It completely got rid of my grasshoppers!

o

I have been trying to catch them and then releasing them by where I work which is a field. The most I have taken at a time are 5. The grasshoppers are eating my Banana Tree, my Smoke Tree Bush and my Roses.