Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
iheartroscoe

New to Gardening

iheartroscoe
17 years ago

Hi everyone, I'm very new to gardening and I was looking for some advice on what to plant. I'm mostly interested in perennials that have interesting flowers. I eventually want to plant a few more trees, also.

I live in Zone 5 and some things I already have in my garden are hydrangeas, hosta, daylilies (which I love), peonies, a weeping japanese maple and some ornamental grasses. My husband and I just moved into our house and there are a few things in the garden that we aren't familiar with. Maybe if I post pictures, someone can help identify them!

Thanks for the help!

Comments (4)

• webkat5
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Sounds like you have some shady areas....you might try some Heucheras or Tiarellas...they are nice accent plants with colorful foliage.

If you have pics of plants you need ID's for, go to the Name That Plant forum....those guys are GOOD!
    You will generally get very fast responses...

Here is a link that might be useful: Name That Plant

• lee53011
    17 years ago

Before planting alot of new plants I would ammend the soil heavily with compost, coffee grounds, and a bag of rabbit feed(alfalfa pellets). This will make sure any new plants have excellent soil to grow in. Plus it is a whole lot easier to do it before the plants are in. Check out the compost forum and the organic gardening forum for great ideas on getting the best soil for your plants.

Lee

• iheartroscoe
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks so much for the tips! I need all the help I can get. :)

• auntpeach
    17 years ago