Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carrera_gw

Newbie wants 3 season garden

Carrera
19 years ago

Hi everyone, this is my first post! We just bought a house (SW suburbs) and I will finally have the space to make a nice garden.

I want to know what I can do now to gear up for a 3 season blooming garden. The old owners did not care much for their garden and basically just have some small shrubs and lots of weeds. I would like perennials/bulbs and some annuals for what looks like a full/partial sun area in front, about 20'x10'. I want lots of color and variety, does anyone have suggestions for what works well? I thought about getting a planned garden from a bulb catalog but I'm a little wary.

Right now we live in a condo with a small patch of space for gardening, and I have daylilies, geraniums, Mexican shell flowers, dianthus, dahlias and assorted wildflowers. Sounds like a mess, but I'm still learning. TIA!

Comments (10)

• leaveswave
    19 years ago

The most boring parts of starting a new garden are the ones you will appreciate most if you do them with care: prepare the spot and have a plan. Can't emphasize this enough to save you time, trouble, and grief down the road. Get some books from the library, Perennial Combinations is a good one to start. If you can get the area prepped soon, you can even plant this year, many nurseries are starting their fall sales. Be sure to keep watered, supplementing to about 1" a week if rainfall falls short. Best wishes with your project and have fun!

• Oswegian
    19 years ago

When we moved out here to the burbs from Hyde Park, I knew nothing about taking care of plants, and especially in this region. I lived in the Arizona desert for 15 years before we moved here. I'm a nature lover and interested in wild and cultivated plants, but really -- no experience. (My mom can make a popsickle stick grow. Obviously that skipped a generation.)