Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
salem_girl

Ideas for a swing set?

salem_girl
19 years ago

Hi! This is my first post as I am new to the website. I just bought a house in Southern Wisconsin and I'm excited about new projects.

My gardening has been limited to small veggie gardens so I'm new to the world of gardening. I have had a few botany classes in college, but as most of you know you don't get your nails dirty in a classroom.

Anyway, the old owners left behind an old wood swing set. My daughter, quite the girly girl at 6 years old, was excited when I told her I thought I'd decorate it for her. I'd like something climbing that makes the swing set seem like her own little garden. (My veggie garden will be a few steps away) I have some things to consider also: I don't want to invade the neighbors, I don't want to keep my daughter away because of bees, I'd like something pleasing to the eye for myself, and I'd also prefer fairly low maintenance.

Can anyone help? I'm in zone 5a in Kenosha County, Salem, Wisconsin.

Thanks!!

Salem_girl

Comments (5)

• cantstopgardening
    19 years ago

Hey Salem girl, Welcome! I went to Salem Central High School. Beautiful area.

My daughter loved green beans (still does,) so she helped me create a bean teepee when she was six. The pole beans grew quite well on that. She could hide in there and eat them straight off the vine. (Her favorite method. Very fresh.) It could be fun to read Jack and the Beanstalk when you plant these. Bean seeds are very accomodating to young fingers. Some varieties have beautiful scarlet flowers, with amazing long bean pods. (Look in asian vegetable sections of garden catalogues.)