Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
slimwhitman_gw

Low Maintenance Groundcovers for KC

slimwhitman
15 years ago

Low Maintenance Groundcovers

Hey, I am a landscape architect in KC and we use groundcovers a lot. I find that we are in a rut and use almost exclusivly English Ivy and Wintercreeper on our projects. Our projects are typically large-scale with dozens of flats of plants on each project.

I am hoping to try new plants on upcoming projects and wanted some advise from you all.

Plants should be no taller than 10" at maturity and must be able to take 3/4 day sun and generic maintenance from a landscape company. We often have full irrigation in these beds, but sometimes we don't (depends on the client). Plants could be evergreen or deciduous. Any color or texture would be considered, I just want to know what you think deserves my attention for this zone 5b/6a climate.

Other plants I have tried or might try:

Liriope - works fine, but the maintenence contractors have a hard time finding and pulling grass weeds in it.

Kewensis Wintercreeper - Nice texture, but refuses to grow.

Ajuga - Seemed to peter out in the summer in sun.

Plumbago - This has potential

Dianthus - I'm not too sure about this in large quantities.

Euphorbia/Spurge - I keep killing this stuff.

Junipers(blue rug & sim.) - These are so last decade.

Creeping jenny - This seems too residential

Pachysandra - I have had some luck with this.

Mondo grass - ?

Creeping sedums - Do you have recommendations?

Creeping Thyme - I have no experience with this.

Vinca - Sometimes this does well, other times it looks terrible.

Any more??

Comments (11)

• slimwhitman
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Someone mentioned Sweet Woodruff to me. Will that work in the circumstances listed above?

• webkat5
    15 years ago

A creeping sedum which fills in quite nicely is S. sarmentosum...

Check it out, you might like it.