Return to the Native Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Please help ID a seed

Posted by NancyPlants 5bKansas (My Page) on
Sun, Feb 6, 11 at 4:45

I recently received a packet of 'wildflower' seeds from a swap. I dont know who contributed the seed so I cant ask them to ID it. There were a variety of seeds including:
**One seed looked a bit like a small acorn without its 'cap'. Dull grey/brown
**The seed that really has me interested is:
over an inch long and over half an inch wide,
flat, thin oblong,
milky white,
smooth with a fuzzy grey edge

I'm very intrigued by what this might be.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Please help ID a seed

This is my first attempt to post a photo...hope it works.
These are the 2 seeds I'm referring to:

Thanks for your help.

unidentified 'wildflower' seeds 2011

o

I took this seed to the local lawn and garden show. It was shown to anyone and everyone and not a single person could identify it. Lots of interest in it but no answers. Its an awesome looking seed, bet it will grow something nifty.
Anyone here have an answer ??

o

Since you first posted your picture on "Name that Plant," the white one has struck me as a squash seed. There are ones that do have an "edge" to them. (See link.) But I really wasn't sure. You can compare and see what you think.

FataMorgana

Here is a link that might be useful: Silver Edge Squash Seeds

o

Nancy - I've been watching this thread because I was curious to see what kind of seed it was. FataMorgana may be right or at least very close. Hope you have room to plant it and see what happens. Be sure to harvest seeds so you can trade them.
The forum below might be able to confirm the id.

Here is a link that might be useful: Gardenweb - Pumpkins Gourds and Squash Forum (Gardenweb)

o