SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
learn2turn

Legal to plant natives?

learn2turn
11 years ago

I ran into this document on Purple Milkweed (Asclepias purpurascens) in Massachusetts--

http://www.mass.gov/dfwele/dfw/nhesp/species_info/nhfacts/asclepias_purpurascens.pdf

Since it's endangered in the state it says "All listed species are protected from killing, collecting, possessing, or sale and from activities that would destroy habitat and thus directly or indirectly cause mortality or disrupt critical behaviors."

I don't get how to interpret that. Would it be illegal to buy a $2 packet of seed and plant some on my property because it's illegal to "possess"? Or would that only apply to wild-collected plants?

Comments (9)

• bostedo: 8a tx-bp-dfw
    11 years ago

I'm not a lawyer, but bet you'd be okay in the very unlikely event some authority calls you out on it as long as you keep your receipts. Usually with these sorts of restrictions, being able to show the provenance was legal is good enough.

Of course, you'd still be at risk of ignorance or meanness. A Houston area landscaper was raided a few years back when a neighbor reported he was growing pot in his yard and the investigating cops couldn't properly identify it as hibiscus coccineus (Texas Star Hibiscus). It's a fairly common N.A. native ornamental well known to resemble marijuana, so they were either not very well trained or were already out for the guy for other reasons. Oh well.... it lives on as a good gardening story.

Here is a link that might be useful: Police mistake landscaper's hibiscus for pot

• Nick4Natives
    11 years ago

I have quite a few plants that fall into the similar dilemma, but I've never been too concerned with the legal issues. As long as you are buying from a nursery with credentials you should be fine. The seed they use is documented and therefore legal to grow.