Return to the Native Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Shuffling Some Natives

Posted by bob64 6 (My Page) on
Tue, Apr 15, 08 at 12:17

I recently moved some blood root plants from a spot where there are already several to another spot where there are none figuring this would be a way to increase overall native cover without actually buying anything. So far the transplants look o.k. Does anyone else do this? Any advice on future similar projects (timing, locations, etc.)? Any other plants you suggest I do this with?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Shuffling Some Natives

I'm new to gardening, and surely I'm making a lot of mistakes, but I'm pretty freely moving stuff around and having some luck. Here's what I've moved so far:

spiderwort: moved some established plants from dry sun to moist shade just a few weeks ago. The new growth is shooting out of the ground.

bleeding heart (or something related to it): moved this from moist shade to moist shade a few weeks ago. Even though I lopped off some big roots in the process, the new growth is absolutely shooting up.

lupine seedlings: transplanted from dry sun to dry sun last week. They seem happy.

established lupine: supposedly these don't transplant well, but I moved about a gallon of dirt with each of three plants last week from dry full sun to dry full sun, and so far the new growth looks unwilted.

skunk cabbage: my half-hearted attempts at re-establishing a couple of these when I dug a pond a few weeks ago have failed. The roots run much too deep to dig up without harming them.

jack-in-the-pulpit: I tried relocating some of these late last summer. They were extremely fragile and prone to wilt after transplanting. I don't know yet if they have survived the winter.

wild violets: these transplant with ease even while in bloom.

irises (I don't know if they are native or not): I transplanted these about a month ago, just as the new growth was starting to show. They are growing nicely so far.