Return to the Native Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New to wildflowers - will they work for a steep slope?

Posted by girlonafarm 6 - VA (My Page) on
Fri, Apr 29, 11 at 21:25

I have a 100 yard long, steep slope that I desperately need to cover. The area does have some rocks, but grass is growing on it now. I would love to plant some native wildflowers though. Will this work?? How should I prepare the soil? I'm very new to wildflower gardening, so any advice is welcome!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New to wildflowers - will they work for a steep slope?

I don't know what type of grass you have growing there but if its native grasses, that can be a good beginning. If not, I would try to put in some little bluestem, blue gama grass and Indian Grass areas. These will grow on a slope.

Especially pretty is the little bluestem. The bluestem will make a nice filler for a "meadow" on a slope. I see it growing in the most inhospitable spots on steep rocky slopes and its gorgeous when abused like that, straight up and distinctive like "starched" grass. I would DEFINITELY plant some there. It is so pretty in the fall with the way it catches the light and turns colors.

Some very easy, long blooming wildflowers to plant are horsemint, purple winecups, rudbeckia (black eyed susan's) and Oenothera speciosa (Mexican evening primrose). These will re-seed abundantly. The primrose is rugged but I have never started it from seed. Its nearly impossible to get rid of once you have it and will form a sprawling, wide mat of pink. I saw it along the highway yesterday on a slope and it must have covered a 6ft by 6 ft area. Very pretty. Missouri primrose is another good choice. It puts out a long tap root, needs very little water and blooms all season with large yellow blooms and will naturalize well.