SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
sugar_peas

Trillium and some other plant id help?

sugar_peas
18 years ago

Hello, I am totally new to the native thing and bought a house last year with woods as part of it. It seems like I have quite a few cool natives I'm finding. Can I post some links to pics and see if anyone can help? I'm not even sure if they are all natives. If they are, are these good ones?

#1 - trillium but can anyone tell me the variety/species?

http://www.candodesign.com/gj/trillium.jpg

#2 -?

http://www.candodesign.com/gj/yellownative.jpg

http://www.candodesign.com/gj/native.jpg

#4 impatiens ? - jewelweed

http://www.candodesign.com/gj/garden - 49.jpg

#5 what is the large shiny 5 lobed leaf? It's viny and all over our shade area.

http://www.candodesign.com/gj/garden - 47.jpg

Comments (17)

• tyrlych
    18 years ago

#2 - Chelidonium majus
    #4 - Impatiens
    #5 - Parthenocissus quinquefolia?

• razorback33
    18 years ago

# 1 Trillium erectum
    # 3 Arisaema sp. - Asian species, maybe elphas?

• Iris GW
    18 years ago

#1 is the wake robin trillium (Trillium erectum), #2 looks like celandine poppy (which I guess is Chelidonium majus as stated above), #3 is jack in the pulpit. Agree that #4 is jewelweed, a native impatiens. #5 is not virginia creeper, but I don't know, does the bloom go with it?

Here is a link that might be useful: Wake robin trillium

• sugar_peas
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks everyone!

Are the jack and the pulpit and trillium rare or anything? They are very cool looking.

the #2 celandine poppy - Chelidonium majus, is that one grown as a native or is it just a 'weed'? it's all over in my yard along with the woods. It's kind of cute now that I have seen it flower it's kind of cute, maybe I'll leave some in the perennial beds this year and see what I think.