Return to the Native Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Trying to ID invasive plant: mint or fireweed?

Posted by Sundry OR (My Page) on
Mon, May 20, 13 at 23:54

Hi folks -- I've got a plant that's absolutely everywhere in my yard right now (in Eugene, OR) and I'm trying to figure out what it is. It has no odor, so although it looks mint-ish I'm thinking it's something else? Someone suggested fireweed, and the leaves do look similar but photos of the shoots don't match what I'm seeing. Any ideas?

Here's another look at it: http://i.imgur.com/4D6Nasa.jpg

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Trying to ID invasive plant: mint or fireweed?

It is certainly one of the Epilobiums, but I don't think it's Fireweed ie Chamerion angustifolium previously known as Epilobium angustifolium. I don't know N American Epilobiums but someone on the Name That Plant Forum might be able to help id it more specifically. Anyway - it is a weed.

o

Careful with that "weed" pronouncement. I'm no Oregon expert but there are a great many native Epilobiums, and that includes fireweed, which I agree, this isn't.

+oM

o

I was approaching the question from a gardening point of view and the statement that it was 'absolutely everywhere in my yard' and the heading which refers to it as invasive. Obviously many 'weeds' are native species but if they are growing, for example in your vegetable garden, they reproduce fast and there are more there than you want, I would class them as weeds. But I am quite happy to withdraw the word and call it 'a wild flower in a place you don't want it', or similar.

This post was edited by flora_uk on Sun, Jun 2, 13 at 9:55

o

That's funny--trying to decide what is weed or wildflr. Michael Dirr once said:
"A weed is a plant having trouble with a human."

It favors Diodia "Poor Joe".
Hello from Brenda in GA. I'm new and thrilled to be here!

o