Return to the Native Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Barrier for English Ivy?

Posted by agardenstateof_mind 7a/b NJ (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 5, 13 at 17:14

Does anyone know how deep a barrier must be to block the spread of English Ivy? I know the roots are quite shallow, but wonder if they "dive" if challenged.

My neighbor has his entire wooded back yard rampant with it and I'm just sick and tired of having to pull out the vines along the property line. Due to the loss of a 60' oak during Sandy, shade patterns have changed, so I will be re-doing that part of the yard and while I'm at it, considered installing a barrier.

Thanks for any advice.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Barrier for English Ivy?

• Posted by c2g 6 (My Page) on
    Thu, Jun 6, 13 at 13:40

I've been battling the same scenario for a few years now, so hoping someone has a good answer. I removed everything that was rooted on my property and all my borders now have established natives. Aside from giving the ivy on the border a good cutting back each spring/fall, I'm not sure what else can be done. Having dense, established plants on my side of the border definitely helps things though.

o

Regarding the barrier, since English Ivy climbs (and quickly I might add), I cannot think of any type of barrier that wouldn't eventually present you with the same problem. In my experience, the roots are quite shallow. I would not think that would change. If something blocked their path, wouldn't they just climb up and over?

Mary

o

C2g - I have a similar situation on my side boundary, which is garden beds with dense, well-established plants in partial shade and the ivy still spreads above and below ground, creeping and climbing anything in its path. Last summer I finally freed the mock orange of the stuff.