Return to the Native Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Lasagna Gardening?

Posted by rain2fall Zone 8--Willamette V (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 30, 09 at 0:30

I've heard this term here and there -- does it mean using cardboard and mulch to kill whatever is underneath? If so, I've been saving pizza boxes for 7 years now and am ready to get started. I'd like some pointers on what kind of mulch and how deep.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Lasagna Gardening?

If you type "lasagna gardening" into the search function, you will find loads of information, too much to repeat here. I have done a little of this layering, using newspaper and cardboard, and I think it really works.I also have a gardening friend who used this technique around the entire perimeter of her one ac. yard, and she has lovely plants, in just a handfull of years. Oh, you will still have some weeds as seeds can blow onto your site as well as attempt to grow up through any spaces you have not quite covered. Good luck!

o

The basic concept would be to trim the weeds down to the ground, lay the cardboard over the ground to prevent the weeds below from growing, and then layer organic stuff over the cardboard and let it rot. By the time the cardboard is too rotted to work as a barrier, the plants below are dead, and you have an area without established weeds and a layer of organic material on top. This will take a year or two. I have done similar things, without the cardboard, using fall leaves and grass clippings. It eventually works, but isn't quick. it seems best suited to shadier areas.

o

Before you start this you should know that paper contains dioxin. This is a toxin that causes cancer. You should google dioxin before you fill your property with paper.

o
dioxin

Here is a link:
http://www.ejnet.org/dioxin/

o
pulp and paper sludge

Read down to pulp and paper sludge used for gardening:
http://www.epa.gov/history/topics/dioxin/01.htm
the EPA is regulating its use as soil conditioners.
Read Danger!

o

Mark -